Another Quit

It’s Day One of quitting tobacco. This is going to be short because I’d rather be off murdering someone right now.

Hard to say if the supplements are working. I’m taking a metric fuck-ton and feeling increasingly silly about it.

  • Multivitamin (gateway drug)
  • Fish Oil
  • Vitamin D
  • 5-HTP (precursor to serotonin)
  • DL-Phenylalanine (precursor to dopamine, norepinephrine)
  • N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC)
  • Chromium
  • L-Theanine
  • Nicotinamide Adenine Dinucleotide (NADH)

Most of these are recommended for stimulant withdrawal in Patrick Holford’s book How To Quit Without Feeling S**twhich I stole off the internet.

The NADH is stupidly expensive. The rest, in terms of cost, are meh.

As for efficacy, here’s what I can say: whether or not it’s the supplements, this has probably been my easiest quit day ever. Not to say it’s been easy, but it really hasn’t been that bad.

I’ve had, literally, two or three strong cravings. They disappeared after a few minutes, tops. (Probably the only time that the age-old “drink a glass of water” tip has actually worked for me.)

Concentration has been solid. I’m a little spacey but can focus enough to write this shit, anyway.

I’ve been slightly hungrier than usual. Totally manageable, though, and no bingeing yet.

My major complaint is mood. I’m irritable, anxious, and mildly depressed. Even so, I’m able to get perspective on those states when they arise and recognize that it’s the withdrawal. (Having a mood disorder is good practice for that sort of thing.)

Anyway, the real test is tomorrow morning. For me, that’s when cravings hit hard.

Wish me luck. Now, off to kill someone…

Leave a Reply

