Extreme Cheap-Ass: Why I’m Moving Into My Van

Call me crazy, but I’m ditching my apartment and moving into a 30-year-old Ford van I bought on Craigslist.

I’ve wanted to do something like this since I was 19. It’s taken me about 10 years to work up the guts to do it, so it’s not like this is coming out of nowhere.

Aside from the houselessness, the rest of my life will look pretty much the same: I’m staying in the same town, keeping my job, going to the same gym, etc. It’s just that now I’ll be cooking all my meals at work and taking all of my showers at the gym.

Plus, you know, parking in quiet residential neighborhoods and sleeping in a creepy van.

Why am I doing this?

  1. Save money.
  2. Make life more interesting.
  3. Strip away the unessentials.

My goal is to keep this up for a year and save enough money to move to Thailand, get a TEFL certification, and teach English.

Don’t worry: I’m hedging my bets. At least for the first couple of months, I’m hanging onto all of my stuff. I’ll be parking my car at a friend’s house and putting all my furniture in a storage unit. After a month or two, if things are working out, I’ll liquidate that shit and boost my savings.

That’s about it. I can’t deny being a bit nervous — I’d be crazy if I weren’t — but it’s also pretty exciting. My greatest fear is that the van will break down catastrophically and I won’t be able to fix it. So I hoard cash, study auto repair, and collect tools. Nothing else I can do.

Oh yeah, in addition: I’m quitting both coffee and cigarettes. Yes, the beauty and terror of a simplified life. I might write up a separate post on quitting, but so far I’ve been using a variety of supplements with great success. (See How To Quit Without Feeling Like S**t)

What do you think? Am I nuts or is this kind of awesome? Hit me up.

6 thoughts on “Extreme Cheap-Ass: Why I’m Moving Into My Van

  1. Awesome idea! I’m also planning on getting a van so that I would have my own private “house” and I could travel/sell food in Portugal(my place of residence). Keep writing updates on how it goes and some pics would be awesome too! And thanks a lot for following my blog!

    Like

    1. I’ll definitely keep you posted.

      I’m a tad paranoid about the pics — mostly because, where I live, there are absurd laws against living in a vehicle. I *really* doubt any pics would come back to haunt me, but… you never know. We’ll see.

      Sounds like a cool plan, btw. I’m still working out how/if I’m going to travel in it full-time. But you know what they say: go small, go now.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

